LIFE · RELATIONSHIPS

THE TIME THERAPY.

image
Photocredit: trevordevage.com

I woke up this morning and I felt different. It wasn’t what I had become accustomed to. I felt okay. I know you’re wondering what is special about feeling okay. But if you’ve ever experienced hurt on a large scale, you’ll know that feeling okay can be a big deal.

When life deals you a sudden blow, whatever way it chooses, it can hurt so much. And the pain can be so intense that you feel like it’s going to kill you. Like literally. I don’t even know if it’s the situation in itself, the person(s) concerned, the general timing or all three factors that makes it feel too much to handle for one person. We’ve all been at that point where we felt like our threshold had been broken and things couldn’t get any worse. I know firsthand because I’ve been there.

I remember a few months back when I took a difficult decision to walk away from a relationship. The weeks that followed were terrible. There was not a single night that I didn’t cry myself to sleep. There were moments I felt like rescinding my decision and running back. I was so sure I wasn’t going to recover from it.  But I did. Time was all it took.

What you’re going through may be different. Are you sick? You just lost your job? You failed an exam? Or your friend betrayed your trust? Whatever it is, just know that you’ll be okay. Maybe not now. But ultimately you’ll be fine. I need you to look back and remember those other times when you felt like the end had come but you still pulled through. This time won’t be any different.

Nothing lasts forever and your pain is not an exception. It’s only for a while and what seems so impossible right now will soon become a joke at the table. It’s okay to be hurt, allow yourself feel it but don’t let it overwhelm you. You are way stronger than you think and one day you’re going to wake up just like me today and the pain will be gone.

Until then, take each day as it comes. Love yourself enough to keep on moving. Slowly but surely, you’ll get there. No matter how deep your wounds run, time heals all wounds and that my friend is not a cliché. 

One thought on “THE TIME THERAPY.

Leave a Reply

