LIFE

A MEMORABLE INDEPENDENCE DAY.

image
Photo Credit: Bellanaija

Happy new month my lovelies!  I can’t believe we’re in October already. More importantly, a very happy Independence Day to my fellow Nigerians. 55 years as an independent nation is no small feat. Although we might not be where we want to be, we still have so many things to be thankful for and that is worth celebrating.

What I love most about Oct. 1st is the fact that it’s a public holiday. I just love the fact that I get to spend my day my way (which doesn’t happen very often I tell you). So naturally I slept in longer and started my day at about 9am. To commemorate the day, my roommate and I went grocery shopping, engaged in a quite elaborate celebratory cooking and then had brunch with a couple of our friends as we watched the Empire episode from last night (don’t worry no spoilers).

At about 4pm, my friend Iyiola invited me to go see the movie ‘Captive’ which premiered today at The Rock Cathedral (House on the Rock Church) in Lekki. Thanks to typical Lagos traffic, we spent almost 2 hours on the road but thankfully we arrived there in one piece. It was my first time at The Rock Cathedral and I must confess that it is MAGNIFICENT! One of the most beautiful church auditorium I’ve ever seen. I was very impressed to say the least.

The event had quite a number of dignitaries in attendance including former vice-president of the Africa division of World Bank, Dr Oby Ezekwesili who was the keynote speaker. I found her speech very engaging, enlightening and inspiring. Also in attendance was Timi Dakolo who took the stage to perform his acclaimed song, Great Nation to an excited audience. We finally saw the movie- about an escaped felon who takes a meth addict hostage in her home for 7 hours after breaking out of prison and committing multiple murders. The movie which starred David Oyelowo and Kate Mara ended at about 10pm and it was indeed a good night.

Still out at that time, finding a taxi was a huge headache until we got the idea of trying out the Uber Taxi app. Finally we got one from Uber which was really cool. Courteous driver, cozy car, traffic-free road and the ride was so smooth that I almost fell asleep. Lol. It was pretty affordable too. I got back to school just in time to make this post before I call it a night. So that’s a summary of my very memorable Independence Day. Hope you enjoyed your day too? Long Live Nigeria! God bless Nigeria!

PS: I’m really sorry that I wasn’t able to take pictures. My phone battery died and I forgot to take my power bank out with me. I’d be a lot more proactive next time. I promise!

Leave a Reply

