15 STORIES OF 2015 · FEATURES · INSPIRATION · LIFE

15 STORIES OF 2015: #DAY 3

image

What a year! My 2015 has been very eventful to say the least. It amazes me how so much could happen in just one year. So here goes my 2015 story…

This post is going to be about my relationship(s) for the most part and what I’ve learned from them in these past couple of months. There are 3 relationships in my life at the moment;

– Relationship with myself.
– Relationship with God.
-Relationship with others.

Not what you were thinking right? I know. Give me your attention for a few minutes more and I’ll explain myself.

I’ve always found it difficult to tell which is more important, my relationship with myself or the one with God but I recently realised that you have to be in a working relationship with yourself first before anything else. You’re probably wondering how you can be in a relationship with yourself. It basically involves knowing and loving yourself. Being able to tell yourself the truth, have fun with yourself and enjoy your own company without being lonely. That’s one of the most important things I learned this year. I was able to take ‘me’ moments to reflect on me, juggle ideas and make plans to better myself. I was able to love myself real time without being ‘in love’ with myself.

If you don’t love yourself, you give others the liberty to be at war with you.

I’ve always sort of looked down on myself but I made sure to enjoy myself this year even though I know it could have been better. I also learned that;

Every product is made from raw materials. And as little as the raw materials are, they’re what makes that beautiful product. Your imperfections are your raw materials. Love them, they make who you are. 

If I were to tell the story of my life, I wouldn’t be able to get past the first sentence without mentioning God. He has truly been everything I need in one. In all of this, it’s very easy for you to conclude that everything has been perfect for me in 2015. Far from it!

I remember being so angry with God at certain points this year when I faced some serious challenges. Life-threatening health issues, finances, academics, family… It was from one thing to another and it just kept coming at me. My strength gradually began to fail me. I held two leadership positions during the year; a financial secretary (with an empty bank account) and an organising secretary (whose life couldn’t be more disorganised). Such irony! It was all a big mess. But God came through for me in the end and put all the broken pieces back together.

All of these made me realise how blessed I am to have such wonderful family. Everything we went through worked to bring us closer. It made me see everyone in a different light and I came to love and appreciate them even more. Another important lesson I learned is;

Don’t wait till they’re dying or gone before you show them how much you love them! 

In the light of this, I’d love to specially thank my other family. The ones I chose. My girls, roommates, CMDA, TC, FC… you guys are a huge part of me. You drive me crazy for the most part but there’s no other way I’d rather have it. I love you all very much. Happy new year in advance!

Busayo Bashorun.

5 thoughts on “15 STORIES OF 2015: #DAY 3

Leave a Reply

