15 STORIES OF 2015 · FEATURES · INSPIRATION · LIFE

15 STORIES OF 2015: #DAY 9

image

I’ve been shilly-shally with my 2015 story for a while now, not because of lack of content but because telling my 2015 in words have proved difficult, but because Ayomide is my baby girl, I will try and give a brief, detailed summary.

2014 was a beautiful year for me, I mean, I made money, passed my exams, no illness, ReviewNaija got a lot of views, everything was smooth, so you can imagine how I prayed to God concerning my 2015. I wanted another beautiful year and on the cross over night, I found myself listing out things I wanted from God and of course dropping my first seed.

The first quarter went by quickly, 2nd Professional exams were knocking, so I had to turn on my A game. I cut down on blogging and outings just to concentrate and trust God, It was a success. Results were released after 2 months of watchful waiting and I was pleasantly surprised to see I had passed.

At the beginning of the year, I was silently fighting a war with my heart and mind. I couldn’t trust anyone enough to share my problem with. Some close people knew I was having issues but no one really understood. I was able to conquer my battle without having to give into ridiculous ideas that went through my head.

I started the weight loss journey, a lot of people actually laughed and asked me to accept myself for who I was. Truth was , i just wanted to be fit. (I mean banging body). Anyways, I joined the gym next to my dorm, started eating right. I got a dietician and a personal trainer. I was serious o! I did lose some pounds , then I just got tired, no motivation and I got worried. But 2016 is our year!!

I finally moved into the dreaded school hostel and I was skeptical about my roommates but they have proven to be sweethearts. Bewaji (my wahala friend, who I just recently got close to), Deola and Folake.

Around the middle of the year, I got seriously involved with NIMSA, thanks to my forever sweetheart Kemisola Agoyi, and this led to me travelling to Port Harcourt for the NIMSA health week. It was a road trip and you can read more about it HERE.  I made a lot of friends, interacted with people and generally had fun. I met my dearest, FIONA DUKE in Port Harcourt. She is a medical student from Babcock University and she literally made my year. She has been my boon companion.

I also let go of some unnecessary baggage called friends, those ones who never cared nor were happy with my success, and the ones who felt we were in some sought of competition. ReviewNaija views escalated this year, and I had several opportunities thanks to the blog. It became really popular, and I was glad that people were also sharing their own experiences. Efe Gboneme the founder of the blog literally moulded me into becoming a better writer.

My 2015 story will not be complete if I don’t talk about how I met wonderful consultants during this clinical year. The likes of Dr Akinmokun, Dr Oshinowo, Dr Amadi, Dr Mbakwem, Dr Odogwu , Prof Ojini, Prof Ogendegbe. They really had an impact in my life though they may not be aware of this. Clinical medicine gave me more reasons to thank God for my life and that of family and friends.  My first phlebotomy experience was a remarkable one, I was so scared but Dr Olufowobi gave me some form of assurance.

I turned 21 in November and tbh, it reminded me of the fact that time was running fast and I had to start arranging my life. LOL, my mum low key reminded me of my age and nuptials. The rest of the year went by peacefully. I was involved in the media team in church, and this taught me a lot about responsibility. I was also representing my class in the senate and it helped build my communication skills.

Towards the ending of the year, I decided to take on more responsibility and I am currently running for social secretary for AMSUL, I will share the outcome in 2016 story. 1 Chronicles 16:34 has always been my watch word. “Give thanks to the LORD, for he is good; his love endures forever.”  God was there for me this year, in so many ways and thank you is not enough to show my gratitude.
I am looking forward to a beautiful 2016, another year with family, old friends and new. I am currently drafting out my list for God. 

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year in advance! xoxo

GBONEME SANDRA.

8 thoughts on “15 STORIES OF 2015: #DAY 9

  1. Sandra you have got that “listen to me” ability of girly writers…that very amusing young woman point of view….honest,bashing,and of course giggly.
    Please write more. Keep it coming

  2. Can someone please explain fake friends? And what qualifies a person to be a fake friend? What characteristics will a fake friend show?

Leave a Reply

