15 STORIES OF 2015 · FEATURES · INSPIRATION · LIFE

15 STORIES OF 2015: #DAY 11

image

Yeah, so I wanted to write. This is the first time I’m actually writing anything. I’m glad.

First of all, how come this year is almost over? It’s like we just started it! I’m still trying to differentiate in my head what happened this year and what happened in 2014. Anyway…

1st quarter: Rounding up 300L, I was made an executive in a Christian Association (I thought I was going to blow it, but I didn’t. Isn’t God good?). Then prepping for and writing my professional exams. Apparently, I thought I was ready for this & I would just blaze it (lol jonzing). I prayed, believed and all. Little did I know what was in store for me.

2nd quarter : Early in this quarter was my birthday and I finally ceased to be a teenager. Reality set in. *sigh* In the following month, the results of the pros were released. There are no words to describe the shock, the pain… I literally thought I would die. It was the worst thing that has ever happened to me. EVER! It was like a bad dream that I wanted to wake up from and would’ve given anything to make go away, but I couldn’t. I was stuck. I had to spend another 6 weeks prepping for the resits examinations. The humiliation and fear that came with it… so much pain, no peace of mind. I don’t think I’ve ever cried as much as I did in this quarter. The tears didn’t stop coming. Funny thing is, I actually had this feeling of impending disaster but I shook it off.  I prayed instead and quoted the scriptures (rhema). But the results still turned out exactly how I prayed against. That was the lowest point of this year and possibly, my life so far. The chances of me passing and moving to the next class were really slim and I was hanging by a thread. A very thin thread. Nevertheless, I thank God for the people he surrounded me with during this period. My support system – my sister and friends. (They helped to keep me sane and ‘un-sad’. And for that, I’m eternally grateful).

3rd quarter: The highlight of this quarter was meeting this awesome person – X. Actually not a stranger, but X came into my line of focus. X was the best part of this quarter for me. Almost too good to be true. He went all out and was there. Throughout. (And that’s one thing I cherish the most in the world – Being there.) Even when I was behaving naughty. He stayed. I eventually wrote the resit exams in this quarter, but not after I had read my eyes out. Literally.  I read like my life depended on it because actually, it did. I gave it everything I had. I couldn’t imagine what I would do if I failed the resits too. I didn’t think I would survive if I didn’t pass and I really didn’t want to find out. Of course, the effect of prayers and the word of God cannot be downplayed in all of these. And the love I received all around. They kept me going. So I finally wrote the exams and hung on to my faith in God because there was really nothing else at that point.

For verily I say unto you, if ye have faith as a grain of mustard seed, ye shall say unto this mountain, remove hence to yonder place; and it shall remove; and nothing shall be impossible unto you- Matthew 17:20.

That word was my anchor and I held on tight. I spent the rest of this quarter waiting. I needed a miracle. Badly. Finally on the 18th of September, my waiting ended and my miracle came! It still makes me teary eyed. The good Lord had mercy on me and I passed. I actually passed! I couldn’t believe it. I remember bursting into tears again. Tears of joy this time. That was definitely the highlight of my year. One of the best days of my life! A couple of people that are very dear to me didn’t make it and that sort of put a damper on the whole thing. But I still felt really lucky. I’ve always been of the opinion that God is partial to me and that result just confirmed it for me. “…and what do I have to deserve this loving” (line from Lecrae’s ‘Tell the world’.) That’s exactly how I felt. The relief! It was finally over and I could now move on. I was happy. God is good. He really is.

4th quarter: I joined clinical class fully. Then came the postings and the stress. Whoever said 400L is lounging lied! . Anyway I’m really looking forward to the next phase. This quarter also helped me know X better and I’m glad I made a wonderful new friend.

I’m still a work in progress and I don’t plan to stop. I’ve been getting to know God better and He just blows you away…by just being God. Plus I have really awesome people in my life. Family, friends, roommates, CMDA… I love you all. As for X, let’s just see how it goes. I know God has great plans for me and I trust him. Totally.

I know 2016 will be even better.

Oyewale Damilola.

5 thoughts on “15 STORIES OF 2015: #DAY 11

Leave a Reply

