15 STORIES OF 2015 · FEATURES · INSPIRATION · LIFE

15 STORIES OF 2015: #DAY15

image

THE NAKED VERSION.

At this point, I’m sure you’re wondering why my story is titled ‘The Naked Version’. Well that’s because that’s exactly how writing this post felt. Like I was getting naked. I’ve never been one to shy away from telling a story. Especially when it’s my own story. But this one just feels different. I guess that’s because 2015 was a ‘year of firsts’ for me.

I remember the first day of 2015 vividly. While everyone was busy basking in the euphoria of making it into the New Year, I lay on my bed struggling with mixed feelings. It was the fresh start I had eagerly looked forward to but then, it also meant the end of something that had grown to become an essential part of me. I had to make a decision- a very important one. One that would determine the course of my year for the most part. I was terrified. It was the last thing in the world I wanted to do. I mean, how do you tell someone you love that you need to leave them without ‘messing them up’? The call lasted for hours.  And though I don’t remember exactly how the conversation went, I remember how I felt after it ended. Void.

The weeks that followed weren’t any better. We all know what a heartbreak feels like or at least we have an idea. To make matters worse, I had a major task ahead of me. Professional exams! The preparation was tough, tedious and draining. And that’s putting it mildly. If you’ve ever written part 2 professional exams in medical school then I’m sure you know what I’m talking about. It was a crazy experience but I thank God that it was worth it in the end. I passed.

Gradually, things got better. Brighter days, peaceful nights. I started to get my life back together. I finally caught a break from school, got back to active blogging (which I love so much btw) and I was already beginning to think that maybe the year wasn’t so bad after all. And then it happened!

What started out as a harmless doctor’s visit turned out to be the beginning of another 2015 drama. I had a few complaints and decided to have it checked out at the hospital (LUTH). The doctor told me that I most likely had a tumour but she’d have to carry out some investigations. My world stood still. Just when I was starting to enjoy myself again. I ran a couple of tests and it was confirmed. Indeed I had a tumour and needed surgery. Worse case scenario, it was cancer. The mere thought of the probability of cancer shattered me. Words cannot describe how I felt. I began to ask God questions. What did I ever do wrong? How can I just wake up and have a tumour? Is this the end? Am I going to die?

My faith was failing. I started to doubt God and began preparing for the worst. On the day of my final consultation before surgery, my miracle came! The tumour was gone! Yeah you read right. It was nowhere to be found. Even my doctors were confused. But I wasn’t. I knew that was God in action!  If you’ve ever doubted the existence of God, know that GOD IS REAL. and he never leaves his own.

No doubt this year was one hell of a ride. A lot happened! But I’m grateful for every bit of it. Now that everything that once seemed like it was going to kill me has become nothing but a memory, I look back at the storm which was 2015 and all that’s left is a clear beautiful sky. I can’t believe I made it! Thank you God!

Now this is to you 2015;

I know our relationship wasn’t an easy one. Most times, I wished you’d just pack your bags and leave already. You were a pain in the butt. But now that you’re leaving, I just want to say thank you. Thank you for teaching me so much about LOVE, FAITH AND RESILIENCE. You’ll forever be a part of my story.

2016! It’s nice to finally meet you…    

Ayomide Ogundipe.

15 thoughts on “15 STORIES OF 2015: #DAY15

  1. I thank God for Your Life dear. You shall continue to live to declare the glory of God.

    2016 would be more amazing and Testimony-filled by His Grace!

    Stay Awesome love 😘

  2. I remember the Sunday your mom shared this “needing surgery, but God came through with a miracle” testimony in church… she said it was one of her daughters and I wondered who. Thank you for sharing! God is real indeed, and ever Faithful. Happy New Year, Ayo! Here’s to a 2016 filled with “clear beautiful skies” 🙂

Leave a Reply

