BEAUTY · REVIEWS

REVIEW: LA GIRL MATTE FLAT VELVET LIPSTICK IN ‘SWEET REVENGE’.

image

Hello beauties! Hope you had a great week? I have another review up for you guys today. And this time it’s LA Girl Matte Flat Velvet lipstick. Quite a mouthful , I know! This is one review that’s long overdue as I purchased this product since last year, shortly after it launched. There has been so much rave about the different lip products from LA Girl that I just had to snag at least one from each collection to try them out. So was it worth the hype? Keep reading to find out!

The Matte Flat Velvet collection boasts of 26 different color shades and according to LA Girl cosmetics, they are “rich in pigment and filled with moisture in a flat velvet finish. With added Shea butter to hydrate lips and a soft, smooth application, your lips will feel as gorgeous as they look!”

‘Sweet Revenge’ is a light pastel pink shade with peach undertones. Buying this lipstick was a risk for me because I was unsure of the actual color of the shade when I ordered it. So when it got delivered, I was initially disappointed because too bright lipsticks don’t suit my skin tone well. But I soon figured great ways to rock it. Anyways, back to my review…

IMG_20160315_162446_wm

PACKAGING
The matte flat velvet lipstick comes in a lovely black cylindrical tube with the lipstick color shade on the top of the cap.

Swatches of Sweet Revenge with flash (left)  and without flash (right)
Swatches of Sweet Revenge with flash (left) and without flash (right)

TEXTURE
‘Sweet Revenge’ has a creamy texture but dries down to some sort of semi-matte finish. It is quite hydrating on the lips and also very light weight which is great. However, I have some issues with this lipstick’s color payoff. It is quite sheer and applies unevenly, so you have to swatch a couple of times to achieve the true shade of the lipstick. It also has a vanilla scent that’s not too overpowering but depending on your preference, you may or may not like the smell.

STAYING POWER
The staying power is not fantastic. Well, except you set with an eye shadow of course. After a few (2-3) hours of wear, it starts to fade and settles into unflattering lines on the lips. It also isn’t transfer-resistant so you will need to reapply after eating or drinking.

My 'sweet revenge' lined with Zaron lip pencil in 'cappuccino'
My ‘sweet revenge’ lined with Zaron lip pencil in ‘cappuccino’

OVERALL
I’d rate this lipstick a 5 out of 10. I wasn’t overly impressed with this particular one. I don’t know if the other shades all have the same issues though but I don’t think I’d be repurchasing either way.

PRICE AND WHERE TO BUY
I got this product for N1500 from online beauty store, Yanga Beauty, but you can also get at any beauty retailer near you although the prices may vary.

Have you tried any lipstick from the matte flat velvet collection? What are your thoughts? Please share!

Leave a Reply

